Calamos Supports Greece
GreekReporter.comSportsSoccerArgentina Wins 2022 World Cup After Thriller Game With France

Argentina Wins 2022 World Cup After Thriller Game With France

Unstoppable Argentina Is The Winner of FIFA 2022 World Cup
Unstoppable Argentina is the winner of FIFA 2022 World Cup. Credit: Twitter / FIFA World Cup

Argentina is the winner of FIFA 2022 World Cup, as it defeated France 4-2 at the penalties in the tournament’s grand finale in Doha, Qatar.

The thriller game had finished extra time with a 3-3 score.

Although Argentina was winning 2-0 at half time, France caught up with the score at 80′ with two consecutive goals by Mbappe, the first of them taken as a penalty shot when Otamendi brought down Kolo Muani inside of the box.

Normal time finished 2-2 and extra time 3-3, leaving the game to be decided by penalties.

Thriller game as France turns game around at the 80th minute

Goals from Messi and Di Maria gave Argentina a lead before half-time, while the team of France could hardly touch the ball.

The score opened with a penalty shot taken by seven-time Balon d’Or winner Lionel Messi, after Dembele brought down Di Maria in the box as he came in from the left side to win Argentina the penalty.

With this goal, the legendary Argentinian forward became the first player to score in the group stage, round of 16, quarter-final, semi-final, and final in a single World Cup tournament.

Angel Di Maria made it 2-0 as Argentina scored a stunning team goal thirty-six minutes into the game, which he celebrated wildly with his teammates.

But Argentina counted without Mbappe, who evened out the score and turned the game around in two minutes’ time with two goals. The first one was a penalty shot as the game approached its end.

Messi scored the third goal for Argentina as the game moved into the final fifteen minutes of extra time.

France was awarded a second penalty shot at the 117th minute for Montiel’s handball to the Mbappe shot from outside of the box. Mbappe was again the man to even out the score.

The game was decided by the penalties with France losing two shots and Argentina celebrating the title of FIFA World Cup winner for 2022.

Argentina winning the 2022 FIFA World Cup
Argentina winning the 2022 FIFA World Cup. Credit: Twitter / FIFA World Cup

Lionel Messi wins “triple crown”

As of today, Lionel Messi is the ninth player ever to win the World Cup, Champions League, and Ballon d’Or, marking a fairytale end to his career.

Beckenbauer, Zidane, and Ronaldinho are among the elite footballers to have won this football “triple crown” in their careers besides Bobby Charlton, Gerd Muller, Paolo Rossi, Rivaldo, and Kaka.

The Argentinian ace now counts over 793 goals for the club and his country, forty-two team trophies, and a record seven Ballons d’Or to his name.

Croatia gets third place in game with Morocco

On Saturday, Croatia defeated Morocco 2-1 and celebrated winning third place at the 2022 FIFA World Cup.

Morocco bowed out with the fourth spot. However, its football team made history at the world’s top football tournament by becoming the first-ever African team to reach its semi-finals.


See all the latest news from Greece and the world at Contact our newsroom to report an update or send your story, photos and videos. Follow GR on Google News and subscribe here to our daily email!

Related Posts