Calamos Supports Greece
GreekReporter.comEuropeCannes Winner's List: Lanthimos' "The Lobster" Receives Jury Award

Cannes Winner’s List: Lanthimos’ “The Lobster” Receives Jury Award

Yorgos Lanthimos

Yorgos Lanthimos’ “The Lobster”, a dark comedy set in a dystopian future, has just won the Jury Award (Prix du Jury) at the Cannes Film Festival.

“The Lobster” markes Lanthimos’ first English-language film, and stars well-known actors like Colin Farrell, Lea Seydoux, John C. Reilly, and Rachel Weisz.

In the world of the film, single people are arrested and transformed into animals of their choosing if they fail to find a mate within 45 days.

Lanthimos directed and co-wrote the script with fellow Greek screenwriter Efthimis Filippou, and helped produce the film as well with help from Irish financers (the film was shot last spring in Ireland). Plenty of Greeks helped to round out the crew of the film, including DP Thimios Bakatakis.

Alchemy acquired the film just four days after it premiered in Cannes.

Here’s the list of the 2015 Cannes Festival winners:

Palme d’Or
Dheepan, dir: Jacques Audiard

Grand Prize
Son Of Saul, dir: Laszlo Nemes

Best Director
Hou Hsiao-hsien, The Assassin

Best Actor
Vincent Lindon, The Measure Of A Man

Jury Prize
The Lobster, dir: Yorgos Lanthimos

Best Actress
Rooney Mara, Carol
Emmanuelle Bercot, Mon Roi

Best Screenplay
Michel Franco, Chronic

Palme d’Honneur
Agnès Varda

Caméra d’Or
La Tierra Y La Sombra, dir: César Augusto Acevdeo

Short Film Palme d’Or
Waves 98, dir: Ely Dagher

See all the latest news from Greece and the world at Contact our newsroom to report an update or send your story, photos and videos. Follow GR on Google News and subscribe here to our daily email!

Related Posts