Calamos Supports Greece
GreekReporter.comGreek NewsCultureGreek "Europa Nostra" Winners Claim Public's Choice Award

Greek “Europa Nostra” Winners Claim Public’s Choice Award

The Monument of Episkopi, Sikinos island, Greece.
Credit: Ministry of Culture and Sports

The Greek monument that won the European Cultural Heritage/Europa Nostra Award for 2022 is now competing for the Public’s Choice Award, as well.

The Monument of Episkopi, a Roman mausoleum converted to a Byzantine church on the island of Sikinos, Greece, is among thirty nominations competing for the prestigious award which is determined by the public through online voting.

The Public Choice Award is only eligible to winners of the European Heritage/Europa Nostra Awards that come from countries that are signatories of the Creative Europe program.

The deadline for online voting is September 11th, and the Public Choice Award winner will be announced on September 26, 2022 at the European Heritage Awards Ceremony in Prague.

Late Greek visionary receives posthumous award

The late Greek visionary and former Vice President of Europa Nostra, Costa Carras, is also listed among the nominations for the Public’s Choice awards. He had been nominated Heritage Champion a few weeks before his passing on February 28, 2022 and was awarded the title posthumously.

The nomination page reads: “Costa Carras was a visionary conservationist, an eminent historian and scholar as well as a distinguished businessman, a humanist, an idealist, and a true European. Over the course of his long life, Costa Carras worked tirelessly in [favor] of Europe’s cultural and natural heritage to create a better world for future generations.”

One of the earliest advocates of sustainable development, Costa Carras was Vice President of Europa Nostra since 1976.

“Under his guidance, Europa Nostra built a truly pan-European heritage movement based on fundamental human rights and shared European values,” the page adds.

Online voting procedure

Each online voter can vote only once and is required to vote for three projects; the first vote counts for three points, the second vote for two, and the third vote for one. The winner will be determined by the total number of votes.

Voting for the same country more than once is not permitted unless the project includes several countries. The vote must be confirmed by clicking on the automated email sent out to the voter.

There is an option to add a comment about the project when voting, which could be featured in the Europa Nostra website.

20th anniversary of the Awards

The Europa Nostra Awards were set up in 1978 to recognize outstanding heritage conservation initiatives across the continent.

It was in 2002, however, that the European Heritage Awards/Europa Nostra Awards were launched by the European Commission.

They have been run in partnership with Europa Nostra ever since, supported by the Creative Europe program of the European Union.

See all the latest news from Greece and the world at Contact our newsroom to report an update or send your story, photos and videos. Follow GR on Google News and subscribe here to our daily email!

Related Posts