Calamos Supports Greece
GreekReporter.comGreeceEuropean Court of Justice Slams Hungary, Poland, Czech Republic for Refusing Refugees

European Court of Justice Slams Hungary, Poland, Czech Republic for Refusing Refugees

The European Court of Justice in Luxembourg. Photo Credit:

The European Court of Justice (ECJ), the supreme court of the European Union, ruled that three EU member states have breached their obligations under EU law by refusing to take a number of refugees who are stranded in Greece and Italy, it was announced on Thursday.
These member states in breach of the law are Poland, Hungary and the Czech Republic.
The ECJ ruled that these three nations had failed to do their part of the relocation program which was agreed upon by the European Council back in 2015, when Greece was experiencing an unprecedented refugee and migrant influx from Asian and African countries, primarily from Syria and Iraq.
The Court also ruled that Poland and the Czech Republic are also guilty of not fulfilling their obligation under European Union law regarding a previous refugee relocation scheme involving 40,000 migrants.
The ECJ rejected the defense arguments of these three nations and found that they did not have the right to claim that the resettlement schemes violated their internal security.
It is noted that, under these agreements, the member states would be entitled to receive €6,000 from Brussels for every refugee they would take in from Italy and Greece,.

See all the latest news from Greece and the world at Contact our newsroom to report an update or send your story, photos and videos. Follow GR on Google News and subscribe here to our daily email!

Related Posts