Calamos Supports Greece
GreekReporter.comGreeceSix Independent MPs Throw Support Behind SYRIZA

Six Independent MPs Throw Support Behind SYRIZA

Six independent members of the Greek parliament who backed the SYRIZA government in the confidence vote on January 16 now say that they will support any future bill submitted by PM Tsipras’ government.
The members told Speaker Nikolaos Voutsis on Monday afternoon that they have thrown their support to Tsipras’ party, effectively offering SYRIZA a viable parliamentary majority.
The letter to the Speaker was signed by Greek Minister of Tourism Elena Kountoura, Deputy Citizens’ Protection Minister Katerina Papacosta and Deputy Agriculture Minister Vassilios Kokkalis. Other members who also signed are Spyros Danellis, Thanassis Papachristopoulos and Costas Zouraris.
Four of the six who offered their support to SYRIZA were elected in September, 2015 with backing from the ANEL party. One member was previously with the To Potami party and one with New Democracy.
Since former Defense Minister Panos Kammenos left the government in January, 2019, the left-wing SYRIZA party has struggled to maintain a viable majority. It has 145 MPs in its parliamentary caucus, six members short of the 151 required in a 300-seat parliament.

See all the latest news from Greece and the world at Contact our newsroom to report an update or send your story, photos and videos. Follow GR on Google News and subscribe here to our daily email!

Related Posts