Calamos Supports Greece
GreekReporter.comBusinessNancy Papaioannou Appointed Atlantic Bank President

Nancy Papaioannou Appointed Atlantic Bank President

Nancy Papaioannou is the New Atlantic Bank division presidentNew York Commercial Bank, a subsidiary of New York Community Bancorp, Inc., announced that Athanassia (“Nancy”) Papaioannou was unanimously appointed President of its Atlantic Bank division by the members of the Atlantic Bank Advisory Board.

In addition to assuming her new role as President, Papaioannou will continue to oversee the Premier Banking operations of the Atlantic Bank division.

Papaioannou was born, raised and educated in Athens, Greece, where she attended Arsakion, a prestigious preparatory school, as well as the French Academy. At the age of 18, she joined the National Bank of Greece and in 1990, was transferred to its U.S. affiliate, Atlantic Bank of New York.

Once in New York, Papaioannou continued her academic studies, majoring in Accounting and Banking, and graduating from Marymount Manhattan College with a degree in Business Management. Building on her extensive experience and her education, she became the manager of the Premier Banking Group of Atlantic Bank of New York in February 2001. In 2006, when Atlantic Bank of New York was acquired by New York Commercial Bank, Papaioannou continued in her leadership role with Premier Banking.

An active participant in the Greek American community, Papaioannou was recently elected President of the Hellenic American Chamber of Commerce and is a member of various Greek American organizations in New York.

In assuming the presidency of the Atlantic Bank Division, Papaioannou follows in the footsteps of Spiros J. Voutsinas, who excelled in that position from the time of his appointment in 2006 until his tragic passing on April 26, 2014. The Atlantic Bank Advisory Board has been actively considering candidates for the role since the spring.

The Atlantic Bank Advisory Board also established a new Executive Committee. The Committee includes New York Commercial Bank President Joseph R. Ficalora, and Divisional Board members John Catsimatidis, Nicolas Bornozis, Spiros Milonas and Savas Konstantinides. In addition to the members on this committee, the Atlantic Bank Board includes Former Ambassador to Cyprus Andrew J. Jacovides, Comin Nicholas Kafes, Mitchell Rutter and John Tsimbinos.

See all the latest news from Greece and the world at Contact our newsroom to report an update or send your story, photos and videos. Follow GR on Google News and subscribe here to our daily email!

Related Posts