Calamos Supports Greece
GreekReporter.comSportsBasketballGiannis Antetokounmpo Becomes All-Time Leading Scorer for the Bucks

Giannis Antetokounmpo Becomes All-Time Leading Scorer for the Bucks

antetokounmpo Bucks leading scorer
Antetokounmpo became all-time leading scorer after passing Kareem Abdul-Jabbar’s 14,211 points. Credit: Instagram / Giannis Antetokounmpo

Giannis Antetokounmpo made history on Thursday, as he became the Milwaukee Bucks all-time leading scorer, leading his team to a 120-119 overtime win against the Brooklyn Nets.

The Greek Freak went off with 44 points while also adding 14 rebounds and six assists.

Antetokounmpo banked in the three-pointer, his first of the game, to tie the score with 18 seconds left in the fourth quarter while he also made two free throws with three seconds remaining in overtime to give the win to the Bucks.

“It’s good because I’m changing the narrative. I don’t want to be the guy that only dunks and runs. I can make a three,” Giannis said.

With these numbers, Giannis became the Milwaukee Bucks’ all-time leading scorer after passing Kareem Abdul-Jabbar’s 14,211 points.

The leading scorer for the Bucks stays humble

“It doesn’t really matter. Because at the end of the day if you don’t have a successful season, if you don’t try and keep getting better and staying humble and staying happy, play all the way until May, June, nobody’s going to remember this,” Antetokounmpo said.

“So I just want us to stay humble. I want myself to stay humble. I felt like the more humble I get and the more hungry I stay, the more things I can accomplish. The more art I can create. Playing basketball is like creating art so — the more I can prolong my career. So I just got to keep staying humble, keep trying to make my teammates great, win games, and good things like tonight will happen,” asserts Antetokounmpo.

Antetokounmpo, one of basketball’s most decorated players

Antetokounmpo won back-to-back NBA Most Valuable Player Awards in 2019 and 2020, joining Kareem Abdul-Jabbar and LeBron James as the only players in NBA history to win two MVPs before turning 26.

Along with his MVP award, he was also named the NBA Defensive Player of the Year in 2020, becoming only the third player after Michael Jordan (1988) and Hakeem Olajuwon (1994) to win both awards in the same season.

In 2021, Antetokounmpo led the Bucks to their first NBA championship since 1971 and was named Finals MVP. The same year, he was selected on the NBA 75th Anniversary Team.

See all the latest news from Greece and the world at Contact our newsroom to report an update or send your story, photos and videos. Follow GR on Google News and subscribe here to our daily email!

Related Posts