Calamos Supports Greece
GreekReporter.comGreeceTurkish President Erdogan: East Aegean Islands Belong to Turkey!

Turkish President Erdogan: East Aegean Islands Belong to Turkey!

Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdogan was provocative in statements made concerning the islands of the east Aegean that are under Greek ownership according to the terms of the Lausanne Treaty. Speaking on the occasion of 93 years since the creation of the Turkish Democracy, Erdogan said that these islands belong to Turkey.
“I am giving a history lesson here. I spoke of the Lausanne Treaty and people were bothered. Why? The islands under our noses, I am shouting that these are our islands,” said Erdogan. “I am yelling that these are our islands. At these islands we have our history, our monuments, our mosques. They are still bothered when we say it. Why?”
“Those who signed are responsible,” he said, insinuating Kemal Ataturk, the founder of the Turkish state.
Greek diplomatic sources state that Erdogan’s rhetoric is for internal fodder, to attack the Kemalist opposition and to indicate the Turkish leader’s claims on Mosul.

See all the latest news from Greece and the world at Contact our newsroom to report an update or send your story, photos and videos. Follow GR on Google News and subscribe here to our daily email!

Related Posts