Calamos Supports Greece
GreekReporter.comGreek NewsCyprusPop Star Gets Cabinet Post in New Cyprus Government

Pop Star Gets Cabinet Post in New Cyprus Government

Cyprus cabinet
11 out of 25 cabinet members appointed by Nikos Christodoulides are female. Public Domain

Pop star Michalis Hatzigiannis was appointed deputy minister of culture in Cyprus by President-elect Nikos Christodoulides, who announced his cabinet on Monday.

Hatzigiannis is a famous pop singer in Greece and Cyprus, and has won many awards in both countries and in Europe. He is also a member of the ‘Elpida’ foundation for children with cancer.

Born in November 1978 to parents from Turkish-held Kyrenia, he has been active in the Greek and foreign recording industry, writing music, lyrics, and performing songs that have been loved by the general public, ranking him among the most popular Greek songwriters.

11 out of 25 cabinet members in Cyprus are female

Christodoulides had promised a 50 percent representation of women in his Cabinet and other key posts in the presidency – and he almost kept his words. 11 out of 25 high-profile appointments announced are women.

The swearing-in ceremony for Christodoulides, the new Cyprus President who won a general election in a February 12 runoff, takes place on Tuesday.

The ceremony begins at 11:30 am during a special session of the Parliament.

When this is over, the new Cabinet – announced on Monday – will meet for the first time at the Presidential Palace.

Tuesday is the day when the five-year term of the outgoing President of the Republic Nicos Anastasiades ends.

The new cabinet in Cyprus

The new Cabinet members – to be sworn in on Wednesday – are the following:

Minister of Foreign Affairs: Constandinos Kombos

Minister of Finance: Makis Keravnos

Minister of Interior: Constandinos Ioannou

Minister of Defence: Michalis Yiorgallas

Minister of Education, Youth and Sport: Athina Michaelidou

Minister of Transport, Communications and Works: Alexis Vafeadis

Minister of Energy, Trade and Industry: Yiorgos Papanastasiou

Minister of Agriculture, Agricultural Development and the Environment: Petros Xenofontos

Minister of Labour and Social Securities: Yiannis Panayiotou

Minister of Justice and Public Order: Anna Prokopiou

Minister of Health: Popi Kanari

Deputy Minister to the President: Irini Piki

Deputy Minister of Maritime Affairs: Marina Hadjimanoli

Deputy Minister of Tourism: Kostas Koumis

Deputy Minister for Research, Innovation and Digital Technology: Philippos Hadjizacharia

Deputy Minister for Social Welfare: Marilena Evangelou

Deputy Minister for Culture: Michalis Hadjiyiannis

Government spokesman: Constandinos Letympiotis

Head of President’s Office: Charalambos Charalambous

Deputy government spokesman: Doxa Komodromou

Head of President’s Press Office: Victoras Papadopoulos

Head of Diplomatic Office: Marilena Raouna

Cabinet Secretary: Pinelopi Papavasiliou

Gender Equality Commissioner: Josie Christodoulou

Environment Commissioner: Maria Panayiotou

See all the latest news from Greece and the world at Contact our newsroom to report an update or send your story, photos and videos. Follow GR on Google News and subscribe here to our daily email!

Related Posts