Calamos Supports Greece
GreekReporter.comGreeceNew Greek Foreign and Finance Ministers Named as Mitsotakis Appoints Cabinet

New Greek Foreign and Finance Ministers Named as Mitsotakis Appoints Cabinet

New Foreign Minister Nikos Dendias (left) and Finance Minister Christos Staikouras

Newly elected Prime Minister Kyriakos Mitsotakis announced his cabinet a few hours after he was sworn in by President Prokopis Pavlpoulos.
Prominent New Democracy lawmaker Nikos Dendias was given the key role of foreign minister while Christos Staikouras was appointed finance minister.
60-year-old Dendias, born in Corfu, is a practicing lawyer and has been active in New Democracy since 1978. On 8 January 2009, he was appointed as Minister for Justice in the second cabinet of Kostas Karamanlis.
In the coalition cabinet of Antonis Samaras, formed after the June 2012 elections, he has held the posts of Minister for Public Order and Citizen Protection (21 June 2012 – 10 June 2014), Minister for Development and Competitiveness (10 June – 3 November 2014) and, from 3 November 2014 to 27 January 2015, Minister for National Defence.
46-year-old Staikouras, born in Lamia, is an economist who was New Democracy’s Coordinator of Economic Affairs. He worked as an analyst for the Bank of England and then Eurobank Ergasias before becoming a lecturer at the Athens University of Economics and Business.
Since 2007 he has been an MP for the region of Phthiotis, in central Greece. In June 2012 he was appointed as an Alternate Minister of Finance, serving until January 2015.
Nikos Panagiotopoulos got the role of Defence Minister, Adonis Georgiadis is to undertake the Development and Investments portfolio while Vassilis Kikilias is to be Health Minister.
Michalis Chrysochoidis, who served as Civil Protection Minister in Lucas Papademos’ caretaker government in 2012 and Public Order Minister with PASOK in 1999-2004, has been re-appointed Public Order Minister.
Takis Theodorikakos is to lead the Interior Ministry while Costis Hatzidakis is to be Energy Minister.
Panagiotis Pikrammenos, a retired judge who briefly served as caretaker prime minister at the peak of Greece’s economic crisis in 2012, has been appointed Deputy Prime Minister.
There are only two female ministers in the new cabinet: Niki Kerameos as Education Minister and Lina Mendoni as Culture Minister.
The cabinet composition was announced by the new Government Spokesman Stelios Petsas.
The new cabinet is to be sworn in on Tuesday and have its first session at 11 a.m. on Wednesday.
Prime Minister: Kyriakos Mitsotakis
Deputy Prime Minister: Panagiotis Pikrammenos
1. Ministry of Finance
Minister: Christos Staikouras
Deputy Minister on taxation policy and state assets: Apostolos Vesyropoulos
Deputy Minister on budgetary policy: Theodoros Skylakakis
Deputy Minister on financial system: Georgios Zavvos
2. Ministry of Development and Investments
Minister: Spyridon-Adonis Georgiadis
Deputy Minister on private investments and public-private partnerships: Giannis Tsakiris
Deputy Minister on research and technology: Christos Dimas
Deputy Minister on industry and trade: Nikos Papathanassis
3. Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Minister: Nikos Dendias
Alternate minister on European affairs: Miltiadis Varvitsiotis
Deputy Minister on economic diplomacy and extroversion: Kostas Fragogiannis
Deputy Minister on expatriate Greeks: Antonis Diamataris
4. Ministry of Citizen Protection
Minister: Michalis Chrisochoidis
Alternate Minister on immigration policy: Giorgos Koumoutsakos
Deputy Minister on anti-criminal policy: Lefteris Oikonomou
5. National Defence Ministry
Minister: Nikos Panagiotopoulos
Deputy minister: Alkiviadis Stefanis
6. Ministry of Education and Religious Affairs
Minister: Niki Kerameus
Deputy minister on primary and secondary education and special education: Sofia Zacharaki
Deputy minister on higher education: Vasilis Digalakis
7. Ministry of Labour and Social Welfare
Minister: Giannis Vroutsis
Deputy minister on social insurance: Panagiotis Mitarakis
Deputy minister on welfare and social solidarity: Domna Michailidou
8. Ministry of Health
Minister: Vasilis Kikilias
Deputy minister: Vasilis Kontozamanis
9. Ministry of Environment and Energy
Minister: Kostis Chatzidakis
Deputy minister on energy and natural resources: Gerasimos Thomas
Deputy minister on environmental and urban environment: Dimitris Oikonomou
10. Ministry of Culture and Sports 
Minister: Lina Mendoni
Deputy minister on sports: Lefteris Avgenakis
11. Ministry of Justice
Minister: Kostas Tsiaras
Deputy minister: Dimitris Kranis
12. Ministry of Interior
Minister: Panagiotis Theodorikakos
Deputy minister on local government and elections: Theodoros Livanios
Deputy minister on Macedonia-Thrace: Theodoros Karaoglou
13. Ministry of Digital Governance
Minister of State and Digital Governance: Kyriakos Pierrakakis
Deputy minister on simplification processes: Georgios Georgantas
Deputy minister on digital strategy: Grigoris Zareifopoulos
14. Ministry of Infrastructure and Transport 
Minister: Kostas Achillea Karamanlis
Deputy minister on transport: Giannis Kefalogiannnis
15. Ministry of Shipping and Island Policy
Minister: Giannis Plakiotakis
16. Ministry of Agricultural Development and Food
Minister: Makis Voridis
Deputy minister on Common Agricultural Policy: Kostas Skrekas
Deputy minister on fishing policy: Fotini Arabatzi
17. Ministry of Tourism
Minister: Charis Theocharis
Deputy minister: Manos Konsolas
State Minister: Giorgos Gerapetritis
Deputy Director to the Prime Minister on coordination of government: Akis Skertsos
Deputy Director to the Prime Minister on communication, information and spokesperson: Stelios Petsas
In addition, Government Spokesman Stelios Petsas said that New Democracy will propose Ioannina MP Konstantinos Tasoulas for President of the Greek Parliament.

See all the latest news from Greece and the world at Contact our newsroom to report an update or send your story, photos and videos. Follow GR on Google News and subscribe here to our daily email!

Related Posts