Calamos Supports Greece
GreekReporter.comLifeeventsShipowners Receive Lloyd's List Greek Shipping Awards 2018

Shipowners Receive Lloyd's List Greek Shipping Awards 2018

Paris Kasidokostas Latsis

The global shipping industry’s prominent Greek shipowners and landline executives were awarded on Thursday at the Lloyd’s List Greek Shipping Awards 2018.
Paris Kasidokostas Latsis won the New Generation Shipping Award, which is open to shipowners up to 40 years of age. Leading the Latsco Group shipping company since 2012, Kasidokostas Latsis has diversified the family footprint in shipping by investing privately in joint ventures with both dry cargo carriers and crude oil tankers. Recently, he has also led the Group into the natural gas industry by ordering two LNGs.
The shipping company of the Latsis family now has a fleet of 27 vessels, tripling its fleet of nine ships in 2009.
Simeon Palos was awarded Lloyd’s List / Propeller Club Lifetime Achievement Award for his 50-year presence in the marine industry. Chief of the listed Diana Shipping, which owns a fleet of 50 large cargo ships and Diana Containerships, also listed in 2010.
The “Maritime Newsmaker of the Year” award was given to Angeliki Frangou. She is the Chairman, CEO, and Director of the Navios Group. With five shipping companies in the stock market, it has a fleet of over 200 ships owned or operated. The Navios Group has been operating for 70 years. The Navios Containership listed on the Oslo Stock Exchange is entering Nasdaq in the U.S. It is one of the 20 largest container ship companies in the world.
“Personality of the Year in Greek Shipping” was given to Yannis Platsidakis. His name is on the Top 100 of Lloyd’s List, along with the top names in the shipping world, including 12 Greek shipowners. Yet, he owns no ships. He is a mathematician and President of Intercargo, the International Union of Shipowners of Dry Load and Managing Director of Anangel Maritime of the Angelicoussis Group.
The Lloyd’s List Intelligence Big Data Award was given to Ioannis Martinos. In 2014 he founded his own company, Signal Maritime, where he combines the energy of a start-up with an experienced industry player. He studied mechanical engineering and graduated from MIT and Tufts Aerospace Engineering.
Passenger Line of the Year was awarded to Seajets, carrying millions of foreign tourists and Greeks to the Greek islands every year.
Finally, The Piraeus International Center Award was awarded to the Propeller Club of Piraeus, the oldest association of shipowners in Greece. Propeller Club President Giorgos Xiradakis received the award.

See all the latest news from Greece and the world at Contact our newsroom to report an update or send your story, photos and videos. Follow GR on Google News and subscribe here to our daily email!

Related Posts