Calamos Supports Greece
GreekReporter.comGreeceGreece's New Cabinet Members Sworn In (photos)

Greece's New Cabinet Members Sworn In (photos)

The new members of the Greek government were sworn in on Wednesday afternoon, in a ceremony held in the presence of President Prokopis Pavlopoulos and Prime Minister Alexis Tsipras.
On Tuesday, Tsipras reshuffled his cabinet ahead of a keynote economy speech next month, seeking to rebound from poor ratings in the final stretch before 2019 elections.

Finance Minister Euclid Tsakalotos remains at his post, as does Defence Minister Panos Kammenos, leader of the nationalist Independent Greeks, the junior party in Tsipras’ government coalition.

The reshuffle also left unchanged the key ministries of labour, migration, tourism and foreign affairs ahead of a name deal currently being negotiated with neighbouring FYROM.
Main opposition New Democracy leader Kyriakos Mitsotakis said that there has been no change to the main core of the government as a result of the cabinet reshuffle.
“The main thing is that those who are responsible for the current state of the country, who are responsible for the economy, who are responsible for foreign policy, who are responsible for defence continue to occupy their positions and have not been moved,” he added.
The new government is officially as follows. An asterisk denotes change at the top ministerial position.
Prime Minister:
Alexis Tsipras
Deputy Prime Minister:
Giannis Dragasakis
Ministry of Interior
Minister: Alexandros Charitsis *
Alternate Minister: Marina Chryssoveloni
Deputy Minister for Macedonia and Thrace: Katerina Notopoulou
Ministry of Citizen Protection
Minister: Olga Gerovassili *
Deputy Minister: Katerina Papacosta
Ministry of Economy and Development
Minister: Giannis Dragasakis
Alternate Minister for Industry: Stergios Pitsiorlas
Deputy Minister: Stathis Giannakidis
Ministry of Digital Policy, Telecommunications and Information
Minister: Nikos Pappas
Deputy Minister: Lefteris Kretsos
Ministry of National Defence
Minister: Panos Kammenos
Alternate Minister: Panagiotis Rigas
Deputy Minister: Maria Kollia Tsaroucha
Ministry of Education, Research and Religious Affairs
Minister: Costas Gavroglou
Alternate Minister for Research and Innovation: Costas Fotakis
Deputy Minister: Meropi Tzoufi
Ministry of Labour, Social Solidarity and Social Security (CORRECTED)
Minister: Effie Achtsioglou
Alternate Minister for Social Solidarity: Theano Fotiou
Deputy Minister responsible for Social Insurance: Anastasios Petropoulos
Deputy Minister: Athanassios Iliopoulos
Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Minister: Nikos Kotzias
Alternate Minister for European Affairs: Giorgos Katrougalos
Deputy Minister for Religious Diplomacy: Markos Bolaris
Deputy Minister for the Diaspora: Terens Quick
Ministry of Justice, Transparency and Human Rights
Minister: Michalis Kalogirou *
Alternate Minister for Anti-Corruption: Dimitris Papangelopoulos
Ministry of Finance
Minister: Euclid Tsakalotos
Alternate Minister for Fiscal Policy: Giorgos Chouliarakis
Deputy Minister for Public Revenue and Property: Katerina Papanatsiou
Ministry of Health
Minister: Andreas Xanthos
Alternate Minister: Pavlos Polakis
Ministry of Administrative Reconstruction
Minister: Mariliza Xenogiannakopoulou *
Ministry of Culture and Sports
Minister: Myrsini Zorba *
Deputy Minister for Sports Giorgos Vasiliadis
Deputy Minister: Konstantinos Stratis
Ministry of Environment and Energy
Minister: George Stathakis
Alternate Minister for Environment: Sokratis Famelos
Deputy Minister: Giorgos Dimaras
Ministry of Infrastructure and Transport
Minister: Christos Spirtzis
Deputy Minister: Nikos Mavraganis
Ministry of Immigration Policy
Minister: Dimitris Vitsas
Ministry of Maritime and Insular Policy
Minister: Fotis Kouvelis *
Alternate Minister for Insular Policy Nektarios Santorinios
Ministry of Agricultural Development and Food
Minister: Stavros Arachovitis *
Deputy Minister: Vassilis Kokkalis
Deputy Minister: Olympia Teligioridou
Ministry of Tourism
Minister: Elena Kountoura
Minister of State for Citizen Affairs
Alexandros Flabouraris
Minister of State for Policy Coordination
Christoforos Vernardakis
Minister of State and Government Spokesperson
Dimitris Tzanakopoulos
Deputy Minister to the Prime Minister
Dimitris Liakos
General Secretary of the Government
Akritas Kaidatzis *

See all the latest news from Greece and the world at Contact our newsroom to report an update or send your story, photos and videos. Follow GR on Google News and subscribe here to our daily email!

Related Posts