Calamos Supports Greece
GreekReporter.comGreeceOpen Letter to European Leaders to Help Greece, Wrap Up Review

Open Letter to European Leaders to Help Greece, Wrap Up Review

ellada-europe-simaies_0Dozens of academics, analysts, politicians, journalists and trade unionists throughout the world have appealed to European leaders and European institutions – including those conducting the ongoing negotiations with Greece – to change their stance and agree to disburse loans to the country, avoiding additional austerity measures, delivering humanitarian aid and restructuring Greece’s debt in the current year.
In an open letter, they noted that this was necessary in order to avoid provoking a suffocation Greece and its democratically elected government under the pressure of permanent demands by its creditors to service the debt.
“The catastrophic humanitarian situation in Greece has been known for some time. Added to it are the unusual burdens borne by the Greek people for the reception and care of refugees. In this situation, Greece needs the real support of its European neighbours and not additional measures for cuts. After years of deprivation and economic collapse, to ask these is political blindness to reality, is economically inexcusable and unacceptable to demand of the Greek people,” the letter says.
The letter was reproduced by the German economic magazine and is addressed to the leaders of several large EU countries, including the UK’s David Cameron, French President Francois Hollande, German Chancellor Angela Merkel and Italian Prime Minister Matteo Renzi.
The list of those that have signed the letter so far is given below:
Nicola Acocella, Roma, Italia, economist
Elmar Altvater, Berlin, Germany, political economist, member of the scientific council of ATTAC-Germany
Antoine Artous, Paris, France, political scientist
Étienne Balibar, Paris, France, philosopher
Thomas Barth, Ilmmünster/München, Germany, sociologist
Rudolph Bauer, Bremen, Germany, sociologist, publicist
Seyla Benhabib, Yale, USA, philosopher, political scientist
Stefan Bestmann, Berlin, Germany, social research
Jacques Bidet, Paris, France, philosopher
Hans-Jürgen Bieling, Tübingen, Germany, political scientist
Gretchen Binus, Berlin, Germany, economist
Joachim Bischoff, Hamburg, Germany, sociologist and journalist
Heinz – J. Bontrup, Gelsenkirchen, Germany, Wirtschaftswissenschaftler
Andreas.Botsch, Berlin, Germany, economist
Miriam Boyer, Berlin, Germany, sociologist, social scientist
Reiner Braun, Berlin, Germany, Co-President of the International Peace Bureau (IPB)
Michael Brie, Schöneiche, Germany, philosopher
Andrea Brock, Hürth, Germany, international relations
Susan Buck-Morss, New York, USA, philosopher, intellectual historian
Judith Butler, Berkely, Calif., USA, philosopher
Claude Calame, Paris, France, social anthropologist
Mario Candeias, Berlin, Germany, political scientist
Patrice Cohen-Séat, Paris, France, lawyer, honorary president of Espaces-Marx
Laurence Cox, Dublin, Eire, sociologist
Alexis Cukier, Strasbourg, France, philosopher
Rolf Czeskleba-Dupont, Hvalsο, Danmark, geographer
Bo Dahlqvist, Waterloo, Belgium, student
Georgios Daremas, Athens, Hellas, member of the Executive Committee of Attac-Hellas
Nick Dearden, London, Great Britain, campaigner, director of a democratic justice organisation
Judith Dellheim, Berlin, Germany, political economist
Andreas Diers, Bremen, Germany, historian
Stéphane Douailler, Paris, France, philosopher
Sebastian Dullien, Berlin, Germany, economist
Rolf Eckart, München, Germany, social activist
Roland Erne, Dublin, Eire, Senior Lecturer, School of Business, University College Dublin
Trevor Evans, Berlin, Germany, economist
Michael Ewert, München, Germany, Germanist
Jean Louis Fabiani, Budapest, Magyar Hungary, sociologist / social anthropologist
Karl Fischbacher, Wien, Austria, Labournet-Austria
Nancy Fraser, New York, USA, critical theorist,
Hans-Peter Gase, München, Germany, member of “Sozialforum München”
Dorothea Härlin, Berlin, Germany, member of „Berliner Wassertisch“
Peter Herrmann, Roma, Italia, social scientist
Gustav Horn, Düsseldorf, Germany, economist
Claus-Dieter König, Brussel/Bruxelles, Belgium, director of the Brussels office of a foundation
Joachim Klein, Offenbach, Germany, political theory and philosophy
Jürgen Klute, Herne, Ex-MEP, Germany
Sudhir Kumar, Chennai, India, architect
Jeremy Leaman, Loughborough, Great Britain, European Political Economy
Steffen Lehndorff, Duisburg, Germany, social researcher
Jürgen Leibiger, Radebeul, Germany, economist
Brian Leslie, Tunbridge Wells, Great Britain, economist
Jakic Ljubomir, Bruxelles, Belgium, journalist
Camille Louis, Paris, France, philosopher and dramaturgist
Alberto Martínez Sánchez, Valencia, Spain, Vicepresident of ATTAC in the Valencia Region
Angie Mathieu, Paris, France, student/squatter
Sandro Mezzadra, Bologna, Italy, political theorist
Hans Misselwitz, Berlin, Germany
Margret Moenig-Raane, Berlin, Germany, former services trade union leader
Kalypso Nicolaïdis, Oxford, Great Britain, international relations
Norman Paech, Hamburg, Germany, jurist
Dagmar Paternoga, Bonn, Germany, Council Member of ATTAC Germany
Helmut Penschinski, Wuppertal, Germany, economist
Bruce Robbins, New York, NY, USA, English and Comparative Literature
Michelle Riot-Sarcey, Paris, France, historian
Thomas Sablowski, Frankfurt a.M., Germany,political scientist
Pierre Salama, Paris, France, Latin-American studies
Thomas Sauer, Jena, Germany, economist
Patrick Saurin, Paris, France, Spokesperson for the French Union Sud Solidaires BPCE
Gesine Schwan, Berlin, Germany, political scientist
Mechthild Schrooten, Bremen, Germany, economist
Ingo Schulze, Berlin, Germany, writer
Ursel Schumm-Garling, Berlin, Germany, sociologist
Lynne Segal, London, Great Britain, psycho-social Studies
Jai Sen, New Delhi, India, Director of CACIM – India Institute for Critical Action: Centre in Movement
Francis Sitel, France, political analyst
Boaventura de Sousa Santos, Coimbra, Portugal, social scientist
Dieter Spöri, Berlin, Germany, former minister of economics
Elsa Stamatopoulos, New York, NY, USA, jurist, anthropologist
Roland Süß, Birkenau, Germany, member of council of Attac-Germany
Rolf Sukowski, Berlin, Germany, chair of OWUS e.V.
Barbara Spinelli, MdEP, Roma, Italia
Axel Troost, MdB, Leipzig, Germany, economist
Hans-Jürgen Urban, Frankfurt a. M., Germany, Board of the Metalworkers’ Union
Marie-Dominique Vernhes, Hamburg, Germany
Lode Vanoost, Sint-Genesius-Rode, Belgium, former Deputy Speaker of the Belgian House of Representatives
Guido Viale, Milano, Italia, economist
Antje Vollmer, Vizepräsidentin des Deutschen Bundestages a D, Berlin
Immanuel Wallerstein, New Haven, Conecticut, USA, social scientist and social historian
Angela Wigger, Nijmegen, Nederlands, international political economist
Ulrich Wilken, MdL, Germany, Frankfurt a. M.
Frieder Otto Wolf, Berlin, Ex-MEP, Germany, philosopher
Harald Wolf, MdA, Berlin, Germany
Andrea Ypsilanti, MdL, Frankfurt am Main, Germany
Gabi Zimmer, MdEP, Werder, Germany, group president

See all the latest news from Greece and the world at Contact our newsroom to report an update or send your story, photos and videos. Follow GR on Google News and subscribe here to our daily email!

Related Posts