Calamos Supports Greece
GreekReporter.comGreeceNew Greek Parliament Inaugurated

New Greek Parliament Inaugurated

vouliThe 17th Greek Parliament was inaugurated on Saturday with familiar as well as new faces taking their seats as the country’s chosen lawmakers.
The new parliament consists of eight parties due to the arrival of the Centrists Union who are making their debut appearance in Greece’s supreme legislative institution.
Saturday’s inauguration is only the first part of a five-day process. The parliament will elect its new president as well its vice presidents on Sunday. SYRIZA has nominated former Interior Minister and current SYRIZA MP Nikos Voutsis for the presidency.
Following the president’s appointment, the Greek government will deliver its agenda remarks. The parliament will then hold a confidence vote for the new Greek government on Wednesday evening. The government is expected to secure the vote, as a minimum of 151 votes are required for a vote of confidence and the SYRIZA-ANEL coalition government is composed of 155 MPs.
The Greek Parliament’s 300 seats are allocated among eight parties in the following manner:
SYRIZA: 145 seats
New Democracy: 75 seats
Golden Dawn: 18 seats
Democratic Alignment (PASOK and DIMAR): 17 seats
Greek Communist Party: 15 seats
To Potami: 11 seats
Independent Greeks: 10 seats
Union of Centrists: 9 seats

See all the latest news from Greece and the world at Contact our newsroom to report an update or send your story, photos and videos. Follow GR on Google News and subscribe here to our daily email!

Related Posts