Calamos Supports GreeceCalamos Supports Greece Greece New Greek Government: The Complete Breakdown of Greece's New Cabinet

New Greek Government: The Complete Breakdown of Greece's New Cabinet

tsipras-maksimouThe new Greek cabinet, which was announced on Tuesday evening, includes new ministries and familiar faces.
The delayed announcement made by government spokesperson Olga Gerovasili at almost midnight revealed that most of the ministerial posts are held by the same people who were in the last SYRIZA-ANEL cabinet, with most of the changes being intra-ministerial rather than replacements.
Greek Prime Minister Alexis Tsipras also decided to alter the structure of three former ministries.
1) The former Economy, Infrastructure, Maritime and Tourism Ministry has been divided into three ministries: Maritime and Island Policy; Economy, Growth and Tourism; and Infrastructure, Transportation and Networks.
2) The former Production Reconstruction, Environment and Energy Ministry is now separated into the Environment and Energy Ministry; and the Agricultural Growth and Food Ministry.
3) The former Culture, Education and Religion Ministry is divided into the Education, Research and Religion Ministry and the Culture and Sports Ministry.
The Special Committee to Combat Corruption, that was previously managed by former State Minister Panagiotis Nikoloudis will now be under the jurisdiction of the Justice Ministry.
As far as the individuals who were ministers in the caretaker government that served Greece for less than a month, only Migration Policy Minister Giannis Mouzalas has kept his post. Caretaker Finance Minister Giorgos Chouliarakis will also continue as Deputy Finance Minister.
Here’s the complete breakdown of Greece’s new cabinet as it was formed by the newly elected SYRIZA-ANEL coalition government.

Prime Minister: Alexis Tsipras
Government Vice President: Giannis Dragasakis

  • State Ministry: State Minister Nikos Pappas, Government Work Coordination Minister Alekos Flabouraris, Deputy Minister Terence Quick, Deputy Minister Olga Gerovasili
  • Maritime and Island Policy Ministry: Minister Thodoris Dritsas
  • Economy, Growth and Tourism Ministry: Minister Giorgos Stathakis, Tourism Deputy Minister Elena Kountoura, ESPA Deputy Minister: Alexis Charitsis, Deputy Minister Theodora Tzakri
  • Infrastructure, Transportation and Network Ministry: Minister Christos Spirtzis, Deputy Minister Dimitris Kammenos
  • Economy, Infrastructure, Maritime and Tourism Ministry: Minister Giorgos Stathakis, Maritime Deputy Minister Thodoris Dritsas, Tourism Deputy Minister Elena Kountoura
  • Interior and Administrative Reconstruction Ministry: Minister Panagiotis Kouroumplis, Deputy Minister: Giannis Balafas, Public Order and Civil Protection Deputy Minister Nikos Toskas, Deputy Minister Christoforos Vernardakis, Vice Minister Giannis Mouzalas, Vice Minister Maria Kollia-Tsaroucha, Deputy Minister Pavlos Polakis
  • Finance Ministry: Minister Euclid Tsakalotos, Deputy Minister Trifon Alexiadis, Deputy Minister Giorgos Chouliarakis
  • Defense Ministry: Minister Panos Kammenos, Deputy Minister Dimitris Vitsas
  • Foreign Ministry: Minister Nikos Kotzias, Deputy Minister Nikos Ksidakis, Deputy Minister Giannis Amanatidis, Deputy Minister Dimitris Mardas
  • Producitve Reconstruction, Environment and Energy Ministry: Productive Reconstruction Minister Panos Skourletis, Deputy Environmental Minister Giannis Tsironis
  • Agricultural Growth and Food Ministry: Minister Vangelis Apostolou, Deputy Minister Markos Mpolaris
  • Justice Transparency and Human Rights Ministry: Minister Nikos Paraskevopoulos, Deputy Minister Dimitris Papagelopoulos
  • Labor Ministry: Minister George Katrougalos, Deputy Minister Theano Fotiou, Deputy Minister Rania Antonopoulou, Deputy Minister: Anastassios Petropoulos
  • Health and Social Security Ministry: Minister Andreas Xanthos, Deputy Minister Pavlos Polakis
  • Education, Research and Religion Ministry: Education Minister Nikos FilisDeputy Minister Sia Anagnostopoulou, Deputy Minister Theodosis Pelegrinis, Research and Innovation Deputy Minister Kostas Fotakis
  • Culture and Sports Ministry:  Culture Minister Aristidis Baltas, Sports Deputy Minister Stavros Kontonis
  • Government Spokesperson: Olga Gerovasili 

The new Greek government will be inaugurated on Wednesday.

See all the latest news from Greece and the world at Contact our newsroom to report an update or send your story, photos and videos. Follow GR on Google News and subscribe here to our daily email!

Related Posts