Calamos Supports Greece
GreekReporter.comGreeceThe Greek Votes of the Ballon D'or

The Greek Votes of the Ballon D'or


Cristiano Ronaldo was awarded the 2014 Ballon D’or beating out Leonel Messi and Manuel Neuer thanks to the votes received from captains and coaches from all the FIFA national teams, as well as journalists from around the world.

The Portuguese superstar gathered 37.66% of the total votes taking home the golden ball trophy for the second year in a row and third altogether (2008, 13, 14).
He’s now in second place in the list of most wins by player, just behind Leo Messi with four 2009, 10, 11, 12) and in the same position with Marco Van Basten (1988, 89, 92), Johan Cruyff (1971, 72, 74) and Michel Platini (1983, 84, 85).

(The World’s Best Eleven for 2014: From Top Left, Arjen Robben, Angel DiMaria, Leo Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo, Manuel Noier, Sergio Ramos, Philipp Lahm, Toni Kroos, Andres Iniesta – Brazilians David Luiz and Tiago Silva of Paris Saint-Germain were absent)
Former Greek coach Claudio Ranieri decided to go with Manuel Neuer, the German keeper who led the German national team to the World Cup trophy for the first time in twenty-four years. Manos Staramopoulos representing the Greek media, also voted for Bayern Munich player, while Vasilios Torosidis, Greece’s captain, thought Arjen Robben was the one worth the trophy.
The Greeks’ extensive votes:
Claudio Ranieri
1. Manuel Neuer
2. Cristiano Ronaldo
3. Arjen Robben
Vasilios Torosidis
1. Arjen Robben
2. Cristiano Ronaldo
3. Philipp Lahm
Manos Staramopoulos
1) Manuel Neuer
2) Arjen Robben
3) Cristiano Ronaldo

See all the latest news from Greece and the world at Contact our newsroom to report an update or send your story, photos and videos. Follow GR on Google News and subscribe here to our daily email!

Related Posts