Calamos Supports Greece
GreekReporter.comGreeceVotes of the Second Unsuccessful Greek Presidential Ballot

Votes of the Second Unsuccessful Greek Presidential Ballot


The Greek Parliament failed to elect a new President of the Hellenic Republic in the second consecutive ballot. Stavros Dimas, the only candidate for the Greek Presidency, nominated by the coalition government partners, New Democracy and PASOK, and Greek Prime Minister Antonis Samaras’ favorite, failed to be elected in the second of three rounds of voting for the Presidential Election, as he did not gain the necessary support of 200 MPs needed to be elected. The third ballot will take place on Monday, December 29 at midday. In the third ballot a majority of 180 MPs is needed for the election of the new President.

A total of 168 MPs voted “yes” for Dimas, while 131 blank votes opposed the election. One MP was not present during the vote.

In detail, besides the 155 votes by the government majority, Stavros Dimas took the affirmative votes of 13 more deputies. Specifically, five independent MPs who voted for Mr. Dimas during the first ballot also voted in his favor for the second, namely Spyros Lykoudis, Grigoris Psarianos, Giorgos Ntavris, Christos Aidonis and Katerina Markou.

Additionally, eight more independent MPs voted “yes” for Mr. Dimas than in the first ballot. Namely, Giannis Kourakos, Vasillis Economou, Mika Iatridi, Panagiotis Melas, Kostas Giovanopoulos, Giorgos Kasapidis, Stathis Boukouras and Chrysovalantis Alexopoulos.

Democratic Left (DIMAR) MP, Niki Founta, who shortly before the procedure announced her departure from the party’s parliamentary group, gave a blank vote, as another DIMAR MP, Thomas Psirras did, who according to sources is also departing from the party. Independent MPs Byron Polidoras, Petros Tatsopoulos and Mimis Androulakis also insisted on blank votes for the second time

Maria Kollia of Independent Greeks (ANEL) was absent from the second ballot, due to health reasons.

The entire parliamentary groups of opposition parties (SYRIZA, ANEL, KKE, DIMAR and Golden Dawn) also gave a blank vote.

See all the latest news from Greece and the world at Contact our newsroom to report an update or send your story, photos and videos. Follow GR on Google News and subscribe here to our daily email!

Related Posts