Calamos Supports Greece
GreekReporter.comEuropeEurosur Border Surveillance System Operational from Today

Eurosur Border Surveillance System Operational from Today

Eurosur borderThe European Border Surveillance System (EUROSUR) becomes operational today, as CNA reports. The backbone of EUROSUR is formed by ‘national coordination centres’ via which all national authorities with a responsibility for border surveillance (e.g. border guard, police, coast guard, navy) are required to cooperate and to coordinate their activities.

Information on incidents occurring at the external land and sea borders, the status and position of patrols as well as analytical reports and intelligence are being shared via ‘national situational pictures’ among these national authorities.

EUROSUR is being established gradually, starting on December 2 with the 18 member states at the southern and eastern external borders including Cyprus, Greece, Bulgaria, Croatia, France, Italy, Malta, Spain, Portugal, Romania, Slovenia, Finland, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Slovakia and Schengen associated country Norway. The remaining 11 EU member states and Schengen associated countries will join the system from December 1, 2014 onwards.
(source: ANSA)

See all the latest news from Greece and the world at Contact our newsroom to report an update or send your story, photos and videos. Follow GR on Google News and subscribe here to our daily email!

Related Posts