Calamos Supports Greece
GreekReporter.comGreek NewsCyprusNew Political Scene For Occupied Cyprus

New Political Scene For Occupied Cyprus

DEFD1605FF675F9DB8255A98B3198CD0The July 28 parliamentary elections created a new political scene in the occupied territory of Cyprus. The Republican Turkish Party (CTP), the party of the Turkish Cypriot Left, emerged, while the big loser of the elections is the right National Unity Party (UBP), which was the government of the occupied area over the last years.
The results of the elections reinforced the Democratic Party (DP) and Communal Democracy Party (TDP). According to the publications in Turkish-Cypriot Press, the forces opposed to Ankara were reinforced although Turkish Cypriot leader Dervis Eroglu remains strong.
The Republican Turkish Party (CTP) won 38.37% of the vote, the National Unity Party UBP won 27.3%, the Democratic Party (DP)- National Forces (UG) 23.11%, the Communal Democracy Party (TDP) 7.43% and the United Cyprus Party 3.21%.
The Republican Turkish Party (CTP) elected 21 seats, the National Unity Party (UBP) 14, the Democratic Party-National Forces (DP-UG) 12, the Communal Democracy Party (UBP) 3, while the United Cyprus Party remains out of the parliament.
The Republican Turkish Party (RTP) needs to form a coalition government, with either the UBP or the DP seen as prospective partners to receive a mandate to form a government.

See all the latest news from Greece and the world at Contact our newsroom to report an update or send your story, photos and videos. Follow GR on Google News and subscribe here to our daily email!

Related Posts