Calamos Supports Greece
GreekReporter.comHollywoodEntry deadline approaching for 2008 Student Academy Awards

Entry deadline approaching for 2008 Student Academy Awards

The deadline for U.S. student filmmakers to submit their films for consideration in the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences’ 35th Student Academy Awards is Tuesday, April 1. The Student Academy Awards is a national annual competition designed to recognize and encourage promising new filmmakers.

Applications and a complete list of rules are available online at All entry forms for the 35th Student Academy Awards must be submitted electronically. Additionally, filmmakers must send a DVD of their film and a hard copy of their signed application to the appropriate regional coordinator. Complete entries must be received by the deadline to be considered (it is not a postmark deadline).

Each year over 500 college and university film students from all over the country compete for Student Academy Awards and the accompanying cash grants. Films are judged by Academy members in four categories: Animation, Documentary, Narrative and Alternative.

Past Student Academy Award® winners include Spike Lee, Gary Nadeau, Bob Saget, Trey Parker, and Oscar® winners John Lasseter and Robert Zemeckis.

At the 80th Academy Awards, honoring the films of 2007, two former Student Academy Award winners received Oscar nominations in the Documentary Short Subject category: James Longley for “Sari’s Mother” and Amanda Micheli (with Isabel Vega) for “La Corona (The Crown).” Over the years, former Student Academy Award winners have garnered a total of 35 Oscar nominations and have won or shared six awards.

The 35th Student Academy Awards will be presented on Saturday, June 7, at the Academy’s Samuel Goldwyn Theater. The ceremony is free and open to the public.

See all the latest news from Greece and the world at Contact our newsroom to report an update or send your story, photos and videos. Follow GR on Google News and subscribe here to our daily email!

Related Posts